Doc Talk Special Presentation: Suicide Prevention

 

 

Suicide Prevention Day was on 10 September and in this special 30 minute presentation, we have a very frank and candid interview with Jerrold Lemko, who shares his personal experience of depression.

(Sunbeams image from r0002 | flagstaffotos.com.au , via Wikimedia Commons)

The message we want to get across is that our mental health is as important as our physical health and wellbeing.

It’s a sign of strength to ask for help, not weakness

Tough Enough To Talk About It  – a free information session on Friday 29 September in Vegreville, suitable for the public, managers, safety – call 780 632-7920 (breakfast sponsored by TD Bank)

Some other resources (courtesy of the fantastic Neil Harris, Addiction Prevention – Mental Health Promotion, Central Zone East, Facilitator “Tough Enough To Talk About It” Program, Alberta Health Services) are below.

TOUGH ENOUGH – Resource List

Telephone Resources:

Health Link (24 hour) 811 or 1-866-408-5465

Mental Health Help Line 1-877-303-2642

Support Network Crisis Line 1-800-661-4606

Credit Counselling of AB 1-888-294-0076

The Debt Stress Line 1-800-463-3328

Addictions Info & Support 1-866-332-2322

Legal Aid Society Alberta (dial toll free 310-0000 then 780-361-1331)

Family Violence Information Line 310-1818 (AB only)

 

Internet Resources:

In Crisis Now   www.metanoia.org

Mood Gym http://moodgym.anu.edu.au/ 

Psych Direct http://www.psychdirect.com 

Blue Pages http://bluepages.anu.edu.au/ 

Beyond Blue www.beyondblue.org.au/ 

Dep Net http://depnet.ca

Man Therapy www.mantherapy.org 

 

Personal Resources and Recommended Books:

Advertisements